

On his long-awaited debut album – RAMTRE – pianist and composer Rui Hallvares Andrade Paes presents eight of his original compositions. Together the songs invite the listener to an intimate glimpse into Rui's music, where the thoughtful, restrained and fragile meet the unleashed, incautious and wild.

The name of the album RAMTRE is also the name of the trio which constitutes the nucleus of the record. The trio is formed by Rui, Andreas Pettersson on drums and bass player Mauritz Agnas. Furthermore, the album features David Bennet on alto saxophone, tenor saxophone player Elin Forkelid, vocalist Lina Nyberg, who has also written the lyrics to one of the songs, Linnea Talp on cello and Fredrik Ljungkvist on tenor saxophone and clarinet. Together they explore the compositions through energetic and thoughtful playing where each musician influences the music through their own individual voice. Rui's distinct musical vocabulary flourishes through intuitive improvisation and personal expression where the interplay between the musicians presents a wide spectrum – from the miniscule to the huge, from the playful to the careful – where the frameworks of music are constantly challenged.

## Credits:

Rui Hallvares Andrade Paes - piano, preparations and composition

Andreas Pettersson - drums and percussion Mauritz Agnas - double bass

## Featured musicians:

David Bennet - alto saxophone
Elin Forkelid - tenor saxophone
Lina Nyberg - voice
Linnea Talp - cello
Fredrik Ljungkvist - tenor saxophone and clarinet

Titel: RAMTRE

Artist: Rui Hallvares Andrade Paes

Catalogue number: HR079 Release date: 2023-09-29

Distribution: Havtorn Records/The Orchard

ruihapaes@gmail.com ramtretrio@gmail.com info@havtornrecords.com www.havtornrecords.com

